Solitons in Bose-Einstein Condensates

Almagro, Spain, Feb. 9-12, 2005

This conference aims to bridge the areas of nonlinear waves and BEC. Specifically, to bring together experts on BEC with experts on soliton theory and nonlinear waves, many of which have already contributed to the field of BEC. Thus, we would like to stimulate the interaction between three different communities: BEC experimentalists, BEC theoreticians and experts on nonlinear waves (usually mathematical physicists and mathematicians). The main goals of the conference are to stimulate mutual knowledge, to identify and address new problems and to find new frameworks for cooperation at the European level and beyond.

The conference themes are all those related to solitons and nonlinear waves in BEC including: solitons, dynamical phenomena in single and multicomponent BECs, shock waves, dynamical aspects of Bose-Fermi mixtures, topological excitations, vortices, control of the dynamics of BECs, Feshchbach resonance management and nonlinear dynamics in BECs, quantum and classical chaos with BECs, numerical and mathematical methods in the theory of BEC and related subjects.

Organizing and Scientific commitee

Víctor M. Pérez García

Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha (Spain) (Chair)

Fatkhulla Abdullaev Physical-Technical Institute of the Uzbek Academy of Sciences (Uzbekistan)  
Panayotis Kevrekidis University of Massachusetts (USA)  
Vladimir Konotop University of Lisbon (Portugal)  
Boris Malomed Tel-Aviv University (Israel)  
Gaspar D. Montesinos Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha (Spain)  
Mario Salerno University of Salerno (Italy)  

Speakers and participants

Fatkhulla Abdullaev, Physical-Technical Institute, Uzbekistán

Verónica Ahufinger, University of Hannover, Germany 

Tristam Alexander, Australian National University, Australia

Adrian Alexandrescu, Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha, Spain

Usama Al-Khawaja, United Arab Emirates University, UAE

Saeed M. Alamoudi, King Fahd University of Petroleum and Minerals, Saudi Arabia

Juan Belmonte, Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha, Spain

Joachim Brand, Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems, Germany

Valery Brazhnyi, University of Lisbon, Portugal

Lincoln Carr, JILA, University of Colorado, USA

Claudio Conti, National Institute for the Physics of Matter (INFM), Italy

Jesús Cuevas, Universidad de Sevilla, Spain

Albert Ferrando, Universidad de Valencia, Spain

Dimitri Frantzeskakis, University of Athens, Greece

Krzysztof Gawryluk, University of Bialystok, Poland

Randall G. Hulet, Rice University, USA

Kai Bongs, Universität Hamburg, Germany

Massimo Inguscio, Universita degli Studi di Firenze, Italy

Tomasz Karpiuk, University of Bialystok, Poland

Lev Khaykovich, Bar Ilan University, Israel

Panayotis Kevrekidis, University of Massachusetts, USA

V. Kuzmiak, Institute of Radio-engineering and electronics, Czech republic

Vladimir Konotop, University of Lisbon, Portugal 

Boris Malomed, Tel-Aviv University, Israel

Humberto Michinel, Universidad de Vigo, Spain

Gaspar D. Montesinos, Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha, Spain

Oliver Morsch, Universita di Pisa, Italy

Markus Oberthaler, University of Heildelberg, Germany

María Paz Alonso, Universidad de Vigo, Spain

Víctor M. Pérez-García, Universidad de Castilla-La Mancha, Spain

Lev P. Pitaevskii, Università di Trento, Italy

Nik Proukakis, University of Durham, United Kingdom

María I. Rodas-Verde, Universidad de Vigo, Spain

Hiroki Saito, Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan

Mario Salerno, University of Salerno, Italy

Anna Sanpera, University of Hannover, Germany

Fernando Sols, Universidad Complutense, Spain

Germán J. Valcárcel, Universidad de Valencia, Spain

Kestutis Staliunas, ICREA, Barcelona, Spain

Andrea Trombettoni, Universitá di Parma, Italy.

Dates and place

Participants are expected to arrive on Feb, 8. Conference lectures will start early in the morning on Feb 9. Sessions will extend until lunch time of Feb. 12.

The conference will be held in the "Palace of Valparaiso" of Almagro (Ciudad Real, Spain). Almagro is a small historic village (8.000 inhabitans) which keeps its splendor from the spanish XVI century. The Palace hosts many conferences during the year and provides a very nice framework for scientific cooperation. For more information on the palace or the city follow the links above.


The conference fee for normal participants is 500 € which must be paid by bank transfer prior to the conference. The registration fee includes lodging near the conference Palace, lunches and the conference materials. Registration fee for acompanying persons is 300 € including lodging in the same room as the registered participants, lunches and the conference dinner. Those acompanying persons only interested in lodging should pay directly to the hotel the difference in the prices (which should be small).

To register you must send the payment before November 30 by bank transfer to the account number



Account number: 2105-2044-16-0142006812

In the concept you should specify "Conference SoliBEC 2005". Once you send the money please send us an email indicating it to together with your personal data (name, affiliation, position) or FAX us a copy of the receipt to the number +34-926-295361

Registered participants can apply for contributed talks to present their research results. Interested participants should send an email to the chairman ( together with a short abstract of their intended contribution before September 30 (in case the contribution is based on a paper already published or a preprint available on arxiv the author should provide a copy by email together with the abstract). Once the abstract is received the scientific commitee will evaluate it and notify acceptace as contributed talk or poster in a period of about two weeks.